rrhost.blogg.se

Indesign cc 2015 disable auto save
Indesign cc 2015 disable auto save








They are inexpensive and "life-saving" when there is a power outage.īut I am at work. There is no excuse not to have one considering how inexpensive they are. No, it seems to be just Adobe, that can be bothered to add a simple and reasonable feature that could potentially save much grief to many people.īuy yourself a UPS (Uninterruptible Power Source), better known as a battery backup. Madcap Flare, of course my Google Apps and other SAAS tools, my Techsmith apps (Camtasia and Snagit), Oracle tools, Microsoft's products, and a few of my Opensource programs like Notepad ++. (The happy face should help to indicate that I'm not yelling.)Įvery other application I use, on a daily basis, offers some form of redundancy. then what happens when you have an InDesign crash? Or what happens in the event of some unusual computer failure? Even a hard drive failure (it happens!) could prevent loss if Adobe is regularly backing up to a different drive. Peter, I am not going to yell at you out of respect and the fact that you have helped me many times.īut damn it, please stop defending Adobe for a feature that would be extremely useful for all eventualities. perhaps Adobe should consult with the web team that created this forum.Īnyway, enough wasting time. just looking in the lower left-corner, I see, " Your content was last auto-saved at 12:03 ". just noticed that EVEN THIS FORUM AUTOSAVES. The only problem is that I must actually remember to save on a regular basis! This time I forgot! Additionally, my working folders are also sync'd to the cloud with Dropbox's excellent sync tool. document_1.00, document_1.01, etc.) that way, even with the low possibility of file corruption, it will have several versions to choose from.

indesign cc 2015 disable auto save

Now, my work-around has always been to have the discipline to backup on a regular basis.

indesign cc 2015 disable auto save

Believe me, when it happens to you, I predict that you will change your tune. I know there are a number of Adobe apologists (whom I still respect) who don't understand the need for a flexible auto-backup but that is only because you haven't suffered. A brilliant addition that saved countless people from grief. I remember in the 1990's, Word Perfect would also save documents after x number of keystrokes. Especially considering that I've been asking Adobe to add this really simple and highly useful addition to ALL their products for YEARS! I just lost about 1 hour of work due to a power outage! That may not seem like a huge loss but it is very discouraging. A more robust script could use save a copy to copy iterations into the same directory, but then you would have worry about available disk space, how many iterations get saved, are they all left in the directory on quit, etc. The obvious downside of this simple script is, you might not always want to save-it will effectively disable the revert command. Tell application "Adobe InDesign CC 2014" A simple startup script could save the active document at a timed interval, like this AppleScript, which would save the front document every 60 seconds: How complex the script would be depends on what you are trying to do.

indesign cc 2015 disable auto save

The script referenced in #9 listens for a save and makes a backup copy, so it isn't a timed autosave. Guessing there's no way to set InDesign to do a regularly scheduled auto save as we did in Quark.Īn autosave strategy could easily be scripted via a startup script (scripts in the Scripts>startup scripts folder automatically run at launch), so it would be worth asking in the scripting forum if something already exists.










Indesign cc 2015 disable auto save